Whoa, Charles is riding!

Charles The most popular word among my students is definitely “whoa.”  They say it when the bike serves left and right.  As if they avoided riding off a cliff.  I always say, “No whoa’s, just fix it.”  Think about how to get back to riding straight ahead. 

Charles got balanced pretty quickly, but he had a hard time keeping the wheel straight and his toes pointed straight ahead.  But, he was very persistent.  We had a rare afternoon lesson and we worked hard as the sun was getting low.

Charles had a “fun crash,” too.  He was heading straight for the curb, so I grabbed him (after a long day for me, I was glad he was only seven and I could pull him off quickly).  He added up under my left arm like a book, and I joked I couldn’t find him as I looked around with him under my arm.  We got a good laugh about that and quickly forgot about the mishap.

By the end, he was riding.  He still needs to practice to gain confidence, but as I always say, the little switch is his brain that helps with bike balance has been flipped to ON!

Keep at it, Charles.  Enjoy the ride!

0 Responses to “Whoa, Charles is riding!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact info

Email: bikewhisperer1@gmail.com Facebook: www.facebook.com/thebikewhisperer Twitter: www.twitter.com/bike_whisperer Region: Dallas/Fort Worth

Fundraising for LIVESTRONG

The Bike Whisperer’s Pledge

I can teach your child to ride a bike without training wheels. When you've reached a point where you need help, contact The Bike Whisperer. The third and fourth wheels will no longer be necessary.

Twitter


