Brody Rides Again!

Brody What a great story today.  Brody’s dad contacted me this week to let me know of his son’s story and ask for assistance.  Almost-eight year-old, Brody did ride in the past.  But in an unrelated accident, he broke his arm.  When it was time to return to cycling, he just couldn’t do it.  He was comfortable with the idea.  Time went by and he had lost his ability.

Now, we all know, once you learn, you never forget.  I knew deep down, Brody could ride–he just wasn’t let himself get there.  We talked about being uncomfortable on the bike, balance, and other tricks/tips I share (I basically acted like we were starting from Ground Zero, even though I knew we were not).

It took very little time to get him going again.  I was by his side every step of the way, which wasn’t easy after a while as I had to sprint to keep up with him.

Our challange was in turning and stopping (his “homework” from this week is to practice this).  “Starting” was a breeze for Brody.  I taught him about the starter pedal and the big push and off he went immediately!  I thought he must have mastered that before, but his dad said that was the first time he did it that easily.

Brody is a polite, smart boy who is an excellent listener.  He even “tipped over” once and got right back at.  And now he’s put the trouble behind him and is talking about putting pegs on his bike and doing wheelies.  And as I type this, I just got an email from dad:  Brody just spent 45 minutes biking up and down the street!

The Bike Whisperer Strikes again! 

1 Response to “Brody Rides Again!”


  1. 1 Russ December 17, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Update – Brody has ridden his bike 45 minutes a day, everyday since he worked with Jeff. Its pretty much all he talks about. I am a very happy dad. Thank you very much Jeff. We went from refusing to get on a bike to refusing to get off in days 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact info

Email: bikewhisperer1@gmail.com Facebook: www.facebook.com/thebikewhisperer Twitter: www.twitter.com/bike_whisperer Region: Dallas/Fort Worth

Fundraising for LIVESTRONG

The Bike Whisperer’s Pledge

I can teach your child to ride a bike without training wheels. When you've reached a point where you need help, contact The Bike Whisperer. The third and fourth wheels will no longer be necessary.

Twitter


