Life is One Long Bike Ride

So sorry its been a while since my last post.  As you may know, all my energy in last several months has been laser-tuned to three things:  family, work, and crossing the country by bicycle.  The trip across the USA was amazing.  The route from Santa Barbara to Charleston crossed through desert, forest, mountains, rolling countryside, and thousands of acres of farmland.  The cycling was challenging at times, but typically manageable.  And the friendships were priceless.  I’d highly recommend a trip like this to anyone who rides.  I strongly believe anyone can do it if they are willing to put the time into training (and have a realistic perspective on what that may entail). 

For 40 days, my paradigm for life was quite different than the norm.  I learned (or maybe was reminded) of what life is all about.  Or at least how to maneuver the turns that always await us.  It was enlightening to realize that there are countless analogies between cycling and life itself.  By the time I got back home, I had constructed a list of principles and tactics to achieving any big accomplishment in life and maintaining balance while doing so.

If you interested in having me share these thoughts with you or a group, please contact me: bikewhisperer1@gmail.com

 

In case you’re curious, here are some of the more popular questions about the ride:

So how long did it take?  How far was it? It took 40 days to cross 3,280 miles and climb 130,000 feet.  We had four rest days along the way.

Why did you do it?  Because I wanted to see what I was capable of in the cycling world.  I had climbed mountains in Northern Italy and Colorado, but had never ridden day after day in any kind of event.  Plus, some would say, I’m goal-oriented.

What was the calorie consumption and burn?  We typically burned 800-1000 calories per hour.  Every day had five to seven hours of riding.  Not sure of the exact calorie consumption, but let’s just say, we had very large meals, snacks at the end of each ride (and usually again before and/or after dinner).  Probably 5,000 to 6,000 calories.  I was hungry often, but didn’t lose weight (a good sign of a balanced intake/burn).

Any big surprises?  There were always surprises.  I crashed 10 ten days before the ride started and was still in a little discomfort at the start.  We had one serious crash that knocked a few people out of the ride.  I was stronger than I thought I would be when climbing hills/mountains.  I was definitely surprised as to how fast I could get into such a unique routine.

Did your appreciation for America change in any way? I have known about the small towns scattered across our country for a while, but I don’t think I had an appreciation for how much of the USA is populated by small towns.  Our country is very diverse.  And while there are self-sufficient urban areas, there are self-sufficient rural areas, too.  And the small towns love America.  The United States geography is pretty amazing, too.  We have the Grand Canyon, the Rockies, the Mighty Mississippi River, and the Mojave Desert.  And miles of rolling hills and quiet country roads.

Would I do it again?  I have no plans to spend 40 days away from family ever again.

The blog covers the journey day by day if you want to learn more about cross-country cycling.  It was a long and winding road, but fortunately it led me back home.

0 Responses to “Life is One Long Bike Ride”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact info

Email: bikewhisperer1@gmail.com Facebook: www.facebook.com/thebikewhisperer Twitter: www.twitter.com/bike_whisperer Region: Dallas/Fort Worth

Fundraising for LIVESTRONG

The Bike Whisperer’s Pledge

I can teach your child to ride a bike without training wheels. When you've reached a point where you need help, contact The Bike Whisperer. The third and fourth wheels will no longer be necessary.

Twitter


