My Goal for 2010: Cross the U.S. in 40 Days

This year’s goal is really a culmination of many years of smaller goals.  In 2004 or so, a friend of mine crossed the U.S. in an organized tour, and I thought, “Wow, I could never do that.”  Since then, I have unintentionally taken steps towards becoming able to consider it.  Miles, trips, more miles.  So with the right training, I feel this is the year to do it.

I practice what I preach (see The Secret is Setting Goals). So this month, I have put down my deposit and hired a coach.  I will join a small team of avid cyclists and Trek Travel in September to launch into this amazing journey. The “official” training starts Feb 1st.  Yes, it takes that long to be ready for an average of 92 miles a day for 40 days (with 4 rest days).  As my coach has already told me, her goal for me is not just to bike all 3,300 miles, but to feel ready to go every morning.

maptour

I’d say wish me luck, but luck has nothing to do with it (except for avoiding flats).  If you’d like to follow the training throughout the year, I’ll be sharing updates through Facebook.

What’s your goal for 2010? 

For some, a century ride is a milestone.  For others, just starting a healthy habit and keeping to it is a big deal.  It’s all relative. 

Just set it, and get it!  If you want to share it, see the Share Your Goal page.

2 Responses to “My Goal for 2010: Cross the U.S. in 40 Days”


  1. 1 @HRMargo January 23, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    That is so awesome, I’m really proud of you. Please blog about this as much as you can so we can follow your journey and support you in the process. Yay Jeff.

    @HRMargo

  2. 2 Jason @ guyknowledgy.com January 24, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Great… Another thing I’m going to have to work towards doing. I would love 3,300 miles on my bike.

    I’ll definitely be following you through this experience.

    Good luck


Leave a Reply

Contact info

Email: bikewhisperer1@gmail.com Facebook: www.facebook.com/thebikewhisperer Twitter: www.twitter.com/bike_whisperer Region: Dallas/Fort Worth

Fundraising for LIVESTRONG

The Bike Whisperer’s Pledge

I can teach your child to ride a bike without training wheels. When you've reached a point where you need help, contact The Bike Whisperer. The third and fourth wheels will no longer be necessary.

Twitter


